Cong Ca Phe – Delectable Coffee in Hanoi, Vietnam

When I travel I make it a point to do two things in the city where I’m in. One is to get a massage and the other is to try local cafes or at least one local café. When we were in Hanoi we were fortunate enough to have dropped by Cong Ca Phe while waiting for our trip to the airport for the flight that will take us back to Singapore.

Tucked in an unassuming little corner in close proximity to St. Joseph’s Cathedral, you wouldn’t know just by looking outside all the delightful coffees that await inside. Good thing we didn’t let appearances put us off for although the exterior was drab, the interior was quirky and there were magical things in cups we all call coffee. Although I am not much of a coffee drinker, blame it on my constant bouts with hyperacidity, I enjoy the aroma of coffee and I love taking small sips.

2015-02-23 15.12.33
The menu somehow reminds me of the Vietnam War

If the owner wanted to recycle as much stuff as possible and make his coffee shop look unique and artsy, he was able to achieve both splendidly. I will give him an 8 in the scale of 1 to 10, 10 being the highest.

IMG_20141007_120754_1
Vibrant flowers on each table, perfect for welcoming guests!

After being pleasantly surprised by the interiors, we sat down, took plenty of pictures and perused the menu. The menu looked like it came right out of the shabby chic catalogue that I wanted to take it home with me. The waiter said that their bestseller is the coconut coffee, something we never tried before so we ordered it.

IMG_20141007_120924_2
The landing of the stairway leading to the second floor

It was with great anticipation that we waited for the cups filled with delightful goodness. The coffee was excellent and decadent. It has just the right hint of coffee and coconut that I actually drank the whole glass. Suffice it to say that it is something that I will go back to whenever I am in Hanoi again.

2015-02-23 15.16.04
Finally we are getting a taste of the bestselling coconut coffee!
IMG-20141007-WA0006_1
Pillows made of reused sacks of flour
IMG_20141007_120915
The interior of the cafe
IMG-20141007-WA0005_1
Using an old radio as a decor is a clever idea

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑